Skip to content

3-22-12

March 22, 2012

Today was a strange day…

Our friends had to go home during the night. Evidently the meds one took made her sick at her stomach. Which ended in vomit in the floor. So I drove the sisters home during the early morning. (The mother has a newborn baby at home). But driving led to vomit in my van. I got back home at about 2:30 am. Took a shower. Found Claire nestled up to Dave on my bed, and took the couch. I don’t like sleeping with all those windows, so I fall asleep around 3:00.

The sweet kids let me sleep in a bit this morning. I woke up to hearing my name shouted in Marigold’s voice. It is pretty loud. I find her door open and the kids keeping her company while she plays in her crib. What thoughtful people…

So then, my thoughtful people keep an eye on Marigold while I go clean my car. Claire “asks” to help. You know, in that way that says she doesn’t really want to but is trying to be nice. I love her so much! It’s lots of steam-cleaning, but I took care of it. You know, it’s one thing to take care of your own children’s mess, but entirely different when it is someone elses… Is it possible to total a van for this? Insurance will pay for it, right?

So it is a HUGE thanks to all my kids for being so sacrificing and thoughtful. Well, I guess they didn’t want to ride around in the wretch-mobile too.

I came up and got another shower and found soup set out on the table for lunch. Such a considerate, loving Claire…

So for some fun, we finished up “Amulet: The Stonekeepers Curse.” The kids want more. I think there are 5 volumes total, so I will put that into our JCLC book cart.

After Mari’s nap, Claire and I played American Girl dolls for a bit, and then read on “Good Luck, Ivy”. These AG books spawn some interesting conversations. Especially the more modern ones. They spark talks about modern ideas prevalent in society…She is dying to get her Ivy doll in. Did I mention that she won it off Ebay? Yea! She could NOT believe it! It *should* be in today…

Then Grant and I read a book about ants. He loves those little guys-er-gals. They really are fascinating. I have to say, I enjoy observing them too. But you will have to pick his brain about them one day.

Then he coached me on how to play “Eden”, which is an app that now even I have. It’s a building game. With monsters. And explosions. I can’t say it will be something I just pick up, like Draw Something, or Words with Friends, or Angry Birds. I am hooked on those right now. Also, I am trying to finish The Hunger Games. I am taking some kids from our church to see it on Saturday. It’s ok. I’ve read dystopian and sci-fi literature long enough to know that it borrows it’s ideas from Anthem and 1984 and such, like George Lucas stole from Frank Herbert and Iasaac Asimov. So it’s a bit of an irritation to me, but I can see how kids would like it. It is a bit easier to swallow. So I’m game, and I will enjoy the movie and the company. And I do enjoy the book too. A little bored. I actually put it down  after the first chapter about 2 months ago. But I picked it up again when I saw how much my younger friends loved it. So.. I guess this is turning into a post more about me today!

I am sure I am missing some things…Well, Grant is summoning me to play Halo with him. Better run! Yawn… A few more hours to go until I meet my pillow again….

P.S. the older 2/3 got to watch Wild China, North of the Great Wall tonight. Fun!

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Honey permalink

    Oh, Melissa! What a night/day! I see other kid’s vomit at work all the time and it is NOT pleasant. I can’t even imagine having to clean it up….and up…and up…in your house, car…you are such a trooper! And, Claire? an amazing girl!

Leave a Reply

